WANT TO JOIN THE SHORT WING PIPER CLUB?

Thread: Pa17 A75 Prop

Default Pa17 A75 Prop

Hi there,
    I'm having trouble finding the right metal prop for my Continental A75 on my 1948 PA17. My A&P says it's the McCauley 1B90/7045. I called McCauley and they gave me 3 models; 1B90/CM7038, 7040 and 7045. McCauley said the 7045 was a cruise prop (I'd prefer the standard or the climb prop), but my A&P can't confirm that the 7038 or 7040 can legally be used on the A75. Can anyone confirm or provide paperwork that proves either the 7038 or 7040 can be used on an A75? Any help you can provide is much appreciated.
    Paul Roberts

Paul,

I am no expert on the Vag, but from what I can tell based on the Type Cert and a search of STCs the A-75 must have been installed on a field approval. There is no STC that I could find for the engine change and the Type Cert only allows the A-65. There is an STC for a C-90 but not the A-75. Given that, I would think it goes back to the Type Cert for the airframe and the engine. The airframe Type Cert says

Propeller - McCauley 1B90/CM7248 or any other Model 1A90 or 1B90/CM propeller
    which meets the following limits:
    Static r.p.m. at max. permissible throttle setting:
    Not over 2250, not under 2150.
    No additional tolerance permitted.
    Diameter: Not over 72 inches, not under 71 inches.

The engine Type Cert allows up to 2600 to 2650 max continuous RPM so the only constraint is where the airframe Type Cert states "or any other Model 1A90 or 1B90/CM propeller". Based on that I would believe that either the standard or climb prop is legal.

Tom Anderson

Hey Tom,